Pin on Pinterest

Keep Irving Beautiful’s (KIB) annual Mayor and KIB Awards event was held Aug. 5 in the First Baptist Church of Irving’s Fellowship Hall. The 124 guests were greeted and signed-in by volunteers Sandy Franco, Chuck Kirk, Elouise McMillian and Chandler Ude, while listening to the harp music of Becky Scherschell. Guests enjoyed an appetizer buffet prepared by Pat Riddle, assisted by a staff of volunteers from the church. T.J. Friedel captured the moments with her photography and Dan Hassell provided technical support.  

KIB’s Volunteer Recognition Committee Chair and hostess for the evening Margie Stipes opened the ceremony by inviting members of the Boy Scouts of America Troop 508 to present the colors and lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

Father Albert Becher from Holy Family of Nazareth Catholic Church delivered the invocation, after which KIB President Jim Scrivner provided an overview of activities throughout the year. Scrivner also acknowledged the recipients of Keep Texas Beautiful state awards, who had previously received their accolades. The recipients included: Chuck Kirk, first place O.P. Schnabel Senior Citizen Award; Frito-Lay Irving Facility, first place Ebby Halliday and Maurice Acers Business and Industry Award; and City of Irving Parks and Recreation Department, first place City Government Award. 

KIB was acknowledged for achieving the President’s Circle Award from Keep America Beautiful, the Gold Star Award from Keep Texas Beautiful and the Award of Sustained Excellence at both the state and national level.

Cathy Whiteman of Irving Community Television Network served as master of ceremonies. During the event, Whiteman and Irving City Councilman John Danish presented awards to the following honorees:

  • Youth Leadership Award: Jack Singley Academy Police Explorers
  • Educator Award: Jonathan Erickson, Cistercian Preparatory School
  • Educator Award: Brett Dyer, North Lake College
  • Faith Group Award: Holy Family Catholic Church 
  • Business and Industry Award: Joe’s Coffee Shop
  • Media Award: Rambler Newspapers
  • Media Award: Fox Sports Southwest
  • Civic Organization Award: Irving Sunrise Rotary
  • Nonprofit Organization Award: EarthX
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: James and Barbara Wallis
  • Civil Servant Award: Irving Chief of Police Jeff Spivey
  • Government Award: City of Irving Fleet Maintenance Department 
  • KIB Hometown Award: Dr. Olivia Novelo Abreu
  • KIB Hometown Award: Oscar Ward 

“Honoring volunteers, partners and sponsors is imperative to KIB,” said Stipes. “They do so much for the organization and the entire community throughout the year, so this is KIB’s way of thanking them for their dedication and effort. Everyone who attended the event was here because they make a positive difference to the well-being of Irving.”

Keep Irving Beautiful is a nonprofit organization dedicated to educating the community about litter abatement, recycling, and beautification to help preserve the health and promote the social and economic prosperity of the city. As an award-winning affiliate of Keep America Beautiful and Keep Texas Beautiful, KIB reaches out to all sectors of the community, including government, businesses, churches, as well as cultural, educational, neighborhood and civic organizations.  For more information on volunteering with KIB or making an activity a “green event,” visit or call (972) 721-2175.

Recognize 2122 Views
Related Posts